Set up working hours in Google calendar

A lot of us have very busy schedules each and every day.  Somehow, we manage to get through all the meetings and events throughout the day and make our way home to family, friends, and pets.  To ensure that we are able to separate our work life from our personal life, Google Calendar gives us the option to set up our working hours.  These hours are the hours that we are typically in the office and available for meetings and/or events.  Let’s take a look at how to set up our working hours below.

Once you have your Google Calendar open, locate and click on the gear in the upper right hand corner and then click on ‘Settings.’  Scroll down until you see the section for “Working Hours.”

calendarwh.png

This feature is very helpful if you are a busy person and need to have some ‘me’ time. Now, this doesn’t mean that you can’t attend events that are scheduled outside of your working hours … you’re just professionally informing the parties that you are typically not available outside of the set hours.

Team drives in GSuite

Few days ago, the only solution that GSuite offers to share files was Google Drive, it was focused more on individual users rather than in teams, meaning that files were uploaded in personal folders and then shared with colleagues to collaborate with them.

But what happens when a user leaves the company? All their Google Drive account was deleted as well resulting in unwanted loss of important company information. But recently, Google has launched Team Drive to solve this 😊

Team Drives was announced last September and it was possible to access to it in Early Adopt program, but now is in GA. The main purpose of Team Drive id a management tool for businesses, where users can drop documents, presentations, and more stuff to store in the cloud and share with co-workers.

So, when a user is added to a team, all the files will be instantly accessible, and the same behaviour happens when a user leaves the company, no files will be lost or deleted. Moreover, a user can only have edit access, meaning that the user will be able to create and add files, but won’t be possible to delete or move any files.

Individuals can be a member of multiple Team Drives. Each is shown in the Team Drives section. Also very Team Drive can have different members (including external users) and permissions

If you want more info about Team Drive:

https://gsuite.google.com/learning-center/products/drive/get-started-team-drive/