In some cases you want to protect critical resources from accidental deletion, because losing some resources that are key in your infrastructure, recovery can be dramatic. Resource Manager locks will enable you to protect these critical resources from deletion.
Locks do not have any impact the normal functions of the resource. You have two possible types of locks on a resource:
- CannotDelete means authorized users can still read and modify a resource, but they can’t delete the resource.
- ReadOnly means authorized users can read a resource, but they can’t delete or update the resource. Applying this lock is similar to restricting all authorized users to the permissions granted by the Reader role.
In practice user or service principles have the role Contributor on a resource. This role allows the user to delete the resource. A lock on the resource will prevent the user with the Contributor role to delete the resource. Only the roles Owner and User Access Administrator can change the locks on the resources.