What happens when external sharing is enabled?

Imagine that you’re in a project where external collaboration is needed, but first, you want to know what exactly happens when a document, site or whatever is shared with external users (users from other company, let’s say).

Firstly, someone has to send an invitation to this external user to collaborate. You have many options to select, to requiere wether user sign in or not

e2.PNG

Secondly, the invitation arrives to the user, and he has to accept it.

e1.PNG

Take into account that these kind of invitations remains in the request list in the site, so any admin could reject the invitation in the meantime.

e3.PNG

Once the user, has accepted the invitationhe could access to the site with the permissions given (full control, contribute, etc…). For example, if you share a document with an external user with the permission “Full Control”, an entry is created in the “Team Site Owners” inside the site. So, you can revoke the acess by removing the user from the Owners group.

e4.PNG

that’s all! Next day I will cover what happens with other things!

Cheers!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s